We would like some answers please.

Dear Sir,

As you may be aware Volunteer Gliding Squadrons up and down the country have been disbanded with no forewarning. For two years we have waited patiently whilst various issues were being resolved. We tried to stay optimistic and enthusiastic, with many VGS staff visiting local ATC squadrons to deliver training on the principles of flight.

The disbandment of many Volunteer Gliding Squadrons came as such a shock. Sir, I am angry that we have been treated this way. I am shocked and appalled that we found out through social media rather than through the correct channels. I am in disbelief that we have had no apology about this and that there have been no thanks for our hard work and commitment. Instead we just get told that change is part of the RAF and that we need to deal with this and move on.

I agree that change is inevitable. However, when squadrons get disbanded in the RAF or stations get closed, I believe that they do get some forewarning and that they don’t just get left in limbo. Those people are allowed to continue their jobs and fly their aircraft until the date given for the disbandment. In our case, we have been left and given false promises. We will have no final furore; instead we will have to pack our VGS up and wave goodbye to our stations.

Sir, how did this get released onto social media so quickly whilst squadron OCs were left waiting for phone calls? How was it posted onto Parliament’s website before we were given a chance to understand what was happening? Why has there been such a lack of compassion. A VGS is like a family, we are more than a cadet unit. Every single CGI and FSC on a VGS has works incredibly hard and has given up so much time to teach cadets the magic of flight. We have given up week after week and most weekends. The majority of us have given that time for free. Some members of the VGS community have been with us for 50 years; they have given us every single weekend and have missed many family moments so that young cadets do not get let down. What do they get in return? They get told that they are no longer required, that not all of the VGSs are needed. I am still yet to see an apology or a thank you.

I have been part of a VGS for 8 years now and in that time I have flown almost 300 cadets. I was a B2 instructor on the Viking and a Grade 1 on the Vigilant. I was part of 611 and 616 VGS, two of the squadrons that are to be disbanded. I have given thousands of hours of my time ensuring that I have given back to the organisation all that I gained from it. I have worked so hard Sir. I, like hundreds of others feel hugely disgruntled by this recent news and although I understand that there has to be budget cuts surely the way in which we received this news should have been more appropriate.

There are going to be a large number of cadets who will have very little opportunity to gain gliding experience. Northern Ireland has lost their only VGS and Wales has lost both of theirs. Scotland now has only 1 VGS. Having flown at Kirknewton I know that they have had many issues with their airfield, they have also moved to Arbroath airfield for parts of the summer. This would lead to a limited flying season at Kirknewton where even less cadets would be flown. Also the distances that cadets would have to travel would be immense. Yes they could attend camps and gain their flying experience that way – but it still means that there will be large swathes of cadets who will never get to experience the thrill of soaring flight.

I feel that the majority of the VGS community would like some answers. We would like some clarification as to why it is certain VGSs that have closed. What is the rationale for the closure of those sites? Why has it taken so long to come to this decision, and why was it released the way it was? Do the people that make these decisions have any idea of the impact? I know that the chances of having this decision overturned are very little, but I truly believe that the big picture has not been looked at here. I feel that the decision has been made to go for the cheapest option. I feel that there has been little care put into this and that the situation has been handled incredibly badly. I feel that the people at the top of our chain have not fulfilled their obligations and they has done very little for the volunteers that have worked tirelessly for them. Even in the pause we were given promises of extra training and flying opportunities, none of that came into fruition. Sir, we are angry and upset and we have been for two years now.

Do you think that staff from the disbanded squadrons will want to go to other VGSs? Do you think that we will have the same opportunities that we had before? I still can’t quite work out how long the recovery program for the remainder of the fleet will take. Trying to retrain to account for the skills fade for the sheer number of instructors who haven’t flown for two years is going to be a mammoth task alone. When will cadets fly again?

We are heartbroken and we would like an apology. We would like to be thanked for our hard work, our enthusiasm and for the impact that we have had on so many young people’s lives. We have been the catalyst for so many people. We have given so many young people the opportunity to taste flight. I would never have been able to afford to fly without the VGS. I have achieved things that I only ever dreamed of. I have broken female stereotypes and shown that a girl can achieve anything. I have inspired and encouraged other young women to try flying. Many of my VGS friends have become airline pilots and RAF pilots, and gaining their Gliding Scholarship wings was the first step onto their chosen career path. The Air Cadets offers such a diverse range of activities which would usually be out of the price bracket of many people. Teaching young people how to fly has also taught them confidence, pride and recognition that they can do anything. I am a teacher and a Head of Year, my last assembly was based on flying and I told my students that if I can teach a young person to fly in a week, imagine what they can do in 4 weeks. I have held many conversations with young people about this and it saddens me that not one person sitting in that hall in front of me will ever have the opportunity to experience what I have experienced.

We may just be volunteers, and that might not mean much, but we are the lifeblood of flying in the ACO. We are the ones who have given back so much to the organisation. We are the ones who put the ‘Air’ into the Air Cadet Organisation. We are the ones that show young people that being a pilot is possible and we are the ones who are ready to give young people huge responsibilities.  ACO squadrons also give responsibilities and they give time but do they send 16 year old cadets solo? Do they train 17 year old cadets to take GIC flights? I am immensely proud of my VGS flying career and it deeply saddens me that I will never get the chance to instruct on the fleet again.

Sir, I know that you may not have all of the answers and I know that you have very little control over the situation but please, for the many heartbroken volunteers up and down country could you please look into this and provide us the answers that we have been looking for.

 

8 comments

  1. As a Young Air Cadet the time that I spent flying at Gliding Schools was invaluable. They provided a fantastic insight into flying and the possibilities and opportunities that the RAF had to offer.

    Unfortunately I never made it due to medical conditions but the experiences flying gliders has made me what I am today. I am now an engineer but look back on my years with the ATC with fond memories and am great full for every minute that the guys shared with me showing me and teaching me how to fly.

    It is a huge shame if the opportunity is taken away from the young Cadets of the future. Training always starts at the bottom of the pile. With engineering it is apprenticeships, with football clubs it is the academies and with the RAF it is the fantastic work that these guys do nurchering and teaching young people what opportunities they have.

    Please reconsider.

    Like

  2. I also was an Instructor with 616 from 1958 to 1993. The Air Cadets and VGS Instructors have been badly let down by this monumental cock up by all and sundry over the last two years. The way it has been handled leaves one wondering who is in charge!!. When I retired from Air Cadets I carried on gliding with the Nene Valley Gliding Club and still hold a Full Rating at 77 years of age. We train a lot of young people from a local college, so there is life after VGS. At the present time there are six ex 616 personnel at NVGC. We also have an ex RAFGSA T21 Sedberg privately owned by a large number of members. If you would like to come along and see us you would be most welcome.

    Like

  3. I flew gliders with 631 VGS at Harwarden and then 616 at Henlow. I believe it gave me the basis of an understanding of aeroplanes that supported my chosen live long career as a Design Engineer with the once proud British Aircraft Industry. It also made me aware of working as part of a team. In my spare time I went on to fly many light aircraft. In retirement I continue to fly gliders and through the auspices of The British Gliding Association, help maintain them. All this stemmed from those early tentative flights in a Slingsby T21b Sedbergh with the ATC.

    What a terrible shame that many of today’s youngster may not have the same opportunities that I and many others enjoyed, unless the closure of so many VGSs can be re-considered .

    Like

  4. I was priviledged to learn to fly and then become an Instructor with the Air Cadets, spanning some 36 years with 616 VGs at RAF Henlow. Throughout this time I never ceased to be amazed at the wonderful experience gliding gave cadets, and the growth in their maturity as they achieved their goals of solo flight, and I know this stays with cadets for the rest of their lives. It is therefore totally unbelievable that the ‘powers that be’ have allowed such an absolutely disastrous situation to develop through what would appear to be total incompetence in the management of the airworthiness of the ACOs fleet of gliders. The volunteer force behind the VGSs all deserve to be treated far better than this. So how about showing some compassion and appreciation for all they have done for the ACO over many, many years?

    Like

  5. I think it would be pertinent to know who decided to spend circa £8 million pounds on facilities at Syerston rather than use that cash to, say, fly the cadets?

    Like

  6. One person seems to have played a leading hand in this monumental cock up, Middleton at HQ Air cadets/2FTS.
    This so called officer should be held responsible and drummed out of the Air Force although I suspect that he has not acted entirely alone. Thousands of young cadets will now be denied the unique experience of being trained to fly and glide before they can even drive a car. Future RAF pilots coming from the Air cadets, dream on. Why the MOD (or their foot soldiers in the RAF) didn’t just come clean and say “we’re going to abolish the Air cadet movement or at least the flying and gliding element” instead of dressing the whole thing up in some protracted charade that hides behind airworthiness issues, I don’t know. Well I do actually as it was the RAF (or again the MOD)in the first place that created the catalogue of disasters relating to the Vigilant and Viking glider fleet (it’s called outsourcing to outfits with no experience in glass fibre and composites) As a former instructor on a VGS and as an ATC squadron commander I spent the best part of 25 years working with some of our brightest and best young people and this whole debacle simply serves to “spit in their faces” and turn a back on their superb achievements. Shame on all of you who had a hand in this.

    Like

Leave a comment