Teacher Training and evidence folders.

Many people starting teacher training this year will be looking over their pre-reading lists and buying their new stationery for September, they will be filled with nerves and excitement and looking through that list of standards wondering how they are going to be evidence that list of requirements.

I remember looking at that list of standards and thinking WOW that’s a lot of stuff to find!

I know that every ITT provider does things slightly differently, but at the end of the day you will have to provide evidence for each standard. For my course we had to provide 2 pieces of evidence for each standard – but we could use each piece of evidence more than once (no more than 3x…I think).

I thought that it might be helpful to trainees to show some example of what I used as evidence and to give some tips on how to get the evidence together…so first….some tips!

  1. Keep everything – Everywhere I went I collected bits and pieces that I thought would be useful for example; training notes, worksheets from lessons that I observed, handouts from seminars etc.Even thank you cards and emails will work as evidence! I started my standards folder during the summer holidays before I started training and started putting in bits and pieces that I thought were useful – over time I took bits out and added to it.
  2. Be organised – You will need file dividers, if you put everything in plastic wallets, get the extra wide dividers so you can still see the tabs! Also get some of those coloured index tabs I had a set of 8 colours (from Amazon) that I used for each standard. I also had some patterned index tabs that I used to signify where each sub-standard was.
  3. When you are collecting evidence write the standard number on the piece – In the beginning I did go through a time where I just shoved everything in the folder, when I looked at each piece afterwards I often wondered what the evidence was for and I wish I wrote down on it what standard I would use it for.
  4. Take photographs / photocopy work –  So many of my standards have photographs with them. I took photos of everything. I would walk around the class taking photos of their work, or the models they were making. I would also photocopy good pieces of work, marking etc. Also photocopy your mark book.
  5. Get involved in things at school – I’m not saying get involved in everything…but helping at an afterschool club or with the school play will provide really good evidence. It will also get you known around the school and it will allow you to see students in a completely different light.
  6. Testimonials: If you are really struggling you an always get someone to write a testimonial for you. These testimonials explain how you have met that standard.

Examples of Evidence

Firstly here are some pictures of the organisation of my folder.

IMG_4809As you can see I had one section for each mains standard and these were colour coded. This made it easier to find what I wanted. Also when it was checked over by my tutor/ITT staff they found it easier to find the information that they required.

IMG_4812On the front of each file divider I wrote down what the standard was and how the standard was divided into substandards. Writing these on helped me to learn the standards quickly and it also reminded me of the correct wording when I was writing up the proof of evidence for each section.

IMG_4810Each standard has its own colour. As well as being practical it also looked quite pretty 🙂

IMG_4815We had to write a proof for each sub-standard explaining why our evidence met the standard. It also had to explain where the evidence could be found. To limit the amount of photocopying I didn’t put the lesson plans into my evidence folder – instead I just had them in my planning folder. This sheet helped the ITT staff to cross-reference the evidence.

IMG_4818 IMG_4814I took a lot of photos throughout my training year. In fact I took photos of almost everything. We made a lot of models  and I couldn’t exactly put a model into my evidence folder so photos really helped. Also remember to take a lot of photos during your second placement. I was fortunate that my second placement was very local therefore I could just pop back if I needed anything, but if your second placement is far away ensure you leave there with everything that you might need.

IMG_4822 IMG_4821Some standards are more difficult to find evidence for than others, however there are many documents out there that could prove useful when annotated and highlighted. For example – the DofEd document about KS3 I used for standard 3b and linked it to the changes that were happening at that time in the curriculum.

IMG_4816 IMG_4817Marksheets and markbook are so useful for standards such as 2a when showing progress. I also annotated the marksheets to show where evidence has been made over time.

IMG_4827IMG_4831I used a lot of evidence from Twitter – this piece was about a school trip I went on to Costa Brava for Geography. We started a hashtag that parents could follow to show what was happening on the trip. I also put a lot of my work onto Twitter – where it received high praise. I used this evidence for 4c and 4e although anything about trips could also be used for standard 8.

IMG_4826I also used real work from my lessons. I collected these exit passes from students and these were simple to insert into my standards – this was used for standard 4a.

IMG_4840 IMG_4841Real examples of sanctions and rewards also make really good evidence. These pieces were from my second placement, in this placement I had a form and the report card was from one of my tutees I used this for standard 7a.

IMG_4842 IMG_4843 IMG_4844Thank you cards and mentions and bulletins also make really good evidence, they re-iterate the positive impact that you have made on that school, the students and parents. Some of these things were from before I started my teacher training. Some ITT providers will allow you to use examples from before you were doing your teacher training. In my case I could use anything from the year previous.

Good luck with your teacher training. It is a difficult, but amazing year. Try to not take things to heart and always make sure you get some sleep.

If you have any questions please feel free to contact me on here and I will do my best to help 🙂

15 thoughts on “Teacher Training and evidence folders.

      1. Hi,

        Thank your blog has been very useful, as I am compiling evidence for QTS assent only route, I really have no idea how to present it and thought everything needed to be computerised and formal. Looking at your evidence, I am relieved!

        I had a question-in my school, alot of our briefings take place over whatsapp group notification. Sometimes discussions takes place on the group. We have formal meetings too, but I wanted to know how can I evidence the whatsapp briefings – can screenshot it or should I log it in a meeting record table?

        Thank you

        Like

      2. Hey,

        I am glad that you have found this useful!!
        For the Whatsapp stuff I would screenshot and then record all information alongside it e.g date and purpose. I had screenshots of things in my standards 🙂

        Fiona

        Like

      1. Oh definitely! I had 8 folders in total. Luckily I only ever had to bring them all in together once! Felt like a weight lifter! Just be very organised…coloured index tabs will be your friends…and you will never have enough plastic wallets!

        Like

  1. Hi,
    I’m just wondering what standard you would put the thank you cards under?
    This is superb advice as well and all my peers enjoyed this help!
    Thanks,
    Beth

    Like

    1. thank you.

      I am at the beginning of my Training Journey. Your page has given me a huge help to get my head around how all these TS work.

      I really admire your enthusiasm for teaching!

      Like

Leave a Reply

